Tags

, , ,

It’s been six months since I started this blog. Time for me to reflect. I first started the blog for two reasons, firstly as a self indulgent hobby and secondly to provide recipes which focus on naturally gluten free ingredients that are straightforward and tasty.

When I first went gluten free I put a big fat red line through anything involving baking. I have a notorious sweet tooth and spent many hours day dreaming off sweet treats. I finally plucked up the courage to try some gluten free baking and have never looked back. This was the first gluten free recipe I tried. It’s a beautifully indulgent chocolate brownie recipe from Doves Farm. The results produce a rich delicious baking success every time.

Ultimate Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies RecipeUltimate Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies

From Doves Farm, with minor modifications below.

  • Gently melt together 100g of butter and 150g chocolate in a bain-marie or in a chocolate fondu set*
  • Pre-heat the over to 180C
  • In a separate bowl mix together 100g GF plain flour, 3ml baking powder and 200g caster sugar
  • Beat in three large eggs followed by the melted butter and chocolate sauce
  • Pour into an oiled and lined baking dish – around 6”x8”
  • Bake for 40 minutes, turn out and cut into small squares

Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies RecipeNote: Do you remember when the chocolate fondue set was all the rage? I was given one as a birthday present years ago.  I have never used it for the original intention, but found that it is perfect for melting chocolate. It carries this out over a gentle heat with minimum fuss and washing up.

What was your first gluten free success?

